Random rambling about Everton in 2010-11

So I’ve spent the better part of the last two hours trying to figure out what exactly I can say on this eve of all eves, a prelude of sorts to the start of the 2010-11 Premiership season. I mean, I’m excited as ever, and there is literally hundreds of blog-worthy posts somewhere in there, I just can’t figure out what to say.

I have high hopes for this season, but I’m not sure why that’s in any way notable. I’m a fan, chances are that I’ll have high hopes every season. But really, my only hope for tomorrow is that we don’t lose 6-1, which is how I was first welcomed as an Evertonian a year ago this weekend.

This will likely be my first season that I attempt to keep tabs on the whole league as well. Last year, I half-heartedly kept an eye on the table, but for the most part I’d watch an Everton game and go back to whatever other sports I watch until the next Toffee match. This is probably one of the aspects that I’m most excited about, time permitting of course.

While my first experience with the so-called silly season (a phrase that has become cliched to the point of being annoying) was mostly a positive one, I can feel the impending heartbreaks of years in the future. I mean, it’s kind of unnerving to hear stories and rumors about four of your team’s best players leaving on an almost daily basis, only to find out that a lot those stories and rumors weren’t grounded in reality.

Judging from quotes by Jack Rodwell and Mikel Arteta to go along with reports that were never really substantiated, it doesn’t seem like either were truly thinking of leaving Goodison. It was nice seeing the good guys win. Now I haven’t been around long enough to get a true gauge on it, but I really hope this summer wasn’t an aberration. I know Everton doesn’t have the funds to compete for players in an open market environment. I understand that, and I’m not looking forward to the inevitable losses that I am to face in the coming years to clubs like freaking Manchester City (…again).

That kind of brings me to my next point. Sports journalism is dead. Now with the preface that American newspapers haven’t quite reached the epic levels of unbelievably false (or ridiculously premature) reporting of certain British outfits, we’re certainly gaining ground. Every single day almost we had a story on Arteta staying or going to this club or that club. At what point in time does someone just try and find out? It’s frustrating beyond belief. Hell, Ronaldinho of AC Milan has agreed to at least 15 clubs right now, judging from a quick Google News search.

So many people are aiming for that scoop, but it seems to me that any real news will be on everyone’s site within seconds. There’s no reason to think one would take an organization less seriously if they were five minutes late, especially if the stories on said site are always well-substantiated.

(A quick aside: the above rant was also brought about by a story stating U.S. coach Bob Bradley had resigned to take the suddenly open Aston Villa job. Report ended up bogus, but not after getting a solid run  misinforming fans on ESPN.)

As far as actual team-related stuff going into this season, I guess there’s every reason to be excited. Everyone’s favorite dirty player Marouane Fellaini is back wit his incredible afro. Arteta is in full health. Jack Rodwell seems to be poised for a great season. Tim Cahill remains an Australian badass. And so on and so forth. The talent is on the team to make some sort of run, and I think one has to expect that.

For the time being at least, Steven Pienaar will suit up for the Toffees while looking to rebound from a less than spectacular World Cup with South Africa. The 28-year old winger was undoubtedly a star for the Blues last season, and I really hope we get him locked up for the foreseeable future. As it stands now, he’ll play a vital cog going forward.

Hey and who knows, maybe we’ll have a consistent striker this season?

A last aside before we go, I spent much of the summer with the hopes of bringing back Landon Donovan permanently. That seems rather unlikely at this point. I think it’s clear that all involved would love to see it happen at some time in the near future, but I think we can really only pin our hopes and cross our fingers for another successful loan stint in December. Maybe something will come of it, maybe something won’t, but I’m sure that ultimately, every U.S. supporter will look back at Donovan’s coming out party in Liverpool as one of the true highlights in recent years.

I really don’t know what else to say. I hope that didn’t come off too convoluted. I’m really looking forward to Blackburn in a mere 12 hours. I’ll definitely have my fair share of coverage afterwards.

It’s here, ladies and gentlemen.

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum.

This entry was posted in Everton, Premiership. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

