Something brewing in LA?

The Los Angeles Galaxy will be waving goodbye to Clint Mathis at today’s friendly vs. Real Madrid at the Rose Bowl. The 33-year old was at one point viewed as the best American player, especially in his stint with the now New York Red Bulls (then the MetroStars) in the early part of the 2000s. Mathis spent the vast majority of his career in the MLS, bouncing around from New York, Los Angeles, Colorado and Salt Lake. He also capped 46 times for the United States, scoring 12 goals.

Following the Mathis announcement earlier this week, the Galaxy also traded mainstay Alan Gordon to Chivas USA for allocation money.

Both moves likely mean there’s a deal brewing in the City of Angels for a new player to join the side. The obvious rumor is Ronaldinho, but as I said last month, I’m not holding my breath on that one.

There’s another out there saying Freddy Adu, and while I’d love to see him back in the MLS, I have my doubts. I don’t think LA is clearing space for non-designated player, and I highly doubt Adu will get DP money. That, and I’d be a bit skeptical that they’re response to the Rafa Marquez and Thierry Henry signings would be a 21-year old still looking for solid footing as a professional soccer player.

Either way, I’d expect an announcement very soon, something is happening.

This entry was posted in MLS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

